Learn. Empower. Achieve. Dream. LEAD


Cypress Fairbanks ISD’s Mission is to maximize every student’s potential through rigorous and relevant learning experiences preparing students to be 21st-century global leaders.



Dual District Hours


Industry Certifications






Texas’s third-largest school district, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD lives out its theme of Opportunity for All each day by serving 116,500 students at 91 schools in northwest Harris County. Students in CFISD schools are encouraged to work collaboratively, develop problem-solving skills, and get a deeper understanding of how they will work in the real world. We prepare our students to be 21st-century learners so that they may become 21st-century leaders. From academic programs and exceptional hands-on learning experiences to renowned athletic programs, in CFISD every student is a star with every opportunity to shine. Learn more at

Dr. Mark Henry

Dr. Henry began his role as superintendent of CFISD in 2011. Under his leadership, the district won many awards including the H-E-B Excellence Award in Education and a No.1 rating by the Education Resource Group (ERG) for Best Overall in Academic Performance and Financial Performance. Prior to CFISD, Dr. Henry was superintendent of schools for Galena Park ISD for seven years. While in GPISD, he was named a finalist for Texas Superintendent of the Year, Region 4 ESC Superintendent of the Year and ATPE Texas Administrator of the Year. He has served as a superintendent in Texas for more than 25 years. He began as superintendent of schools for Milford ISD from 1991 to 1993, then moved to Collinsville ISD from 1993 to 1998. He accepted the position at Sulphur Springs ISD in 1998 and served through 2004. In addition to Dr. Henry’s experience as superintendent, he began his career in 1982 as a teacher, and then gained administrative experience while serving as a middle and high school assistant principal and principal. He was an adjunct professor at Texas A&M University at Commerce from 1999 to 2004. Dr. Henry received a Bachelor of Arts in Secondary Education with a minor in history from the University of Texas in Arlington in 1984. He received a Master of Education in Administration with a minor in economics from the University of North Texas in 1989, and a Doctor of Education in Administration with an emphasis in finance and a minor in curriculum and instruction in 1992. He is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA). He has served as a UIL legislative council representative since 1999, and was the chairman from 2006-2007. He was a trustee for the Teacher Retirement System of Texas from 2003-2009, and served as the vice chairman from 2008-2009. He is also active in community organizations and has held leadership positions on the Cy-Fair Houston Chamber of Commerce board of directors, Cy-Fair Educational Foundation executive committee, Cypress-Fairbanks Medical Hospital governing board and Junior Achievement board of directors.

Bob Covey


Ron Ryan

Vice President

Dr. John D. Ogletree, Jr.

Position 5

Debbie Blackshear


Gilbert Sarabia


Julie Hinaman


Tom Jackson